More on the Wicked Edge Micro Fine ceramic stones

Recently I have used my Wicked Edge Micro Fine ceramic stones (1.4/0.6 micron) quite a lot. Initially I thought they were both finer than the Wicked Edge Super Fine ceramic stones (1200/1600 grit), but I now think this is not the case.

I took some microscope pictures again and this time the lighting was a bit better.

Here is a picture of an edge after the 1.4 micron ceramic stones.

Edge after 1.4 micron ceramics stones

And here is a picture of the same edge after the 1200 grit stones.

Edge after 1200 grit ceramics stone

I am not certain, but it looks as if the 1.4 micron stones leave slightly larger scratches than the 1200 grit stones. I am quite certain, however, that the scratches left by the 1.4 micron stones are larger than those produced by the 1600 grit stones.

Edge after 1600 grit ceramics stones

And, although the lighting in the next picture doesn’t help in determining this, the scratches left by the 0.6 micron stones seem the smallest.

Edge after 0.6 micron ceramics stones

So my current preferred progression is 1.4 micron stones, 1200 grit stones, 1600 grit stones, 0.6 micron stones.

Comparison to Shapton stones

The 0.6 micron ceramic stones are fine. Micro-fine. I wanted to know whether the 0.6 micron stones are about as fine as the 30K Shapton stones, which have a particle size of 0.49 micron.

So I took a picture of the knife edge after the 30K Shaptons: a very smooth edge.

Edge after 30K Shaptons.

Edge after 30K Shaptons.

In the same lighting conditions I took a picture of the edge after the 0.6 micron ceramics as well.

30 06 micron stone

Edge after 0.6 micron ceramics stones.

The 0.6 micron ceramics seem quite a bit coarser than the 30K Shaptons.

One thought on “More on the Wicked Edge Micro Fine ceramic stones

  1. Thanks for clarifying this. When I 1st got my Microfine ceramics I could’nt figure out why the edge was more polished at 1600 then when I went to Micro-Coarse it was less polished. I was messing around & decided to go with 1.4, 0.6, 1200, 1600. Your way makes more sense so I’ll try that

Leave a Reply

