My second knife on the 5K/10K Choseras

The second knife I sharpened using the 5K and 10K Choseras was a Benchmade 940 Osborne. This is a favourite of mine and I often wear it as an EDC.

Stock stones

It has a blade made of S30V, which is quite a hard steel. It was the first time I sharpened an S30V blade and I was prepared to spend a long time with the 100 grit stones to raise a burr. So I was hugely surprised I was able to raise a burr on both sides within 10 minutes! Good stuff, those diamond stones :).

Below are the results of the standard progression of 100-200-400-600-800-1000-1200-1600 grit stones. At every grit level I did a few minutes of up-down strokes, followed by 100 push strokes per side. I sharpened the edge at 17 degrees per side.

Edge after 100 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 100 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 200 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 200 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 400 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 400 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 600 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 600 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 800 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 800 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 1000 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 1000 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 1200 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 1200 grit stones – push strokes.

Edge after 1600 grit stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 1600 grit stones – push strokes.

Choseras

Then it was time to use the Choseras. These stones are thicker than the stock stones, so the sharpening angle should be adjusted. And although this can be done easily, I initially forgot it. I was sharpening for some time using the 5K Choseras at 15 degrees or so, before I realised what I was doing. I did try to correct this, but didn’t feel like going back to the 1600 grit stones (or even lower), so the results are still somewhat visible in the pictures below.

Edge after 5K Chosera stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 5K Chosera stones – push strokes.

Edge after 10K Chosera stones – up-down strokes.

Edge after 10K Chosera stones – push strokes.

Stropping

Next I stropped the edge using 1 micron diamond spray and 0.5 micron diamond spray on balsa, followed by plain leather strops.

Edge after 1 micron diamond strops – up-down strokes.

Edge after 1 micron diamond strops – push strokes.

Edge after 0.5 micron diamond strops – up-down strokes.

Edge after 0.5 micron diamond strops – push strokes.

Edge after plain leather strops – push strokes.

This resulted in a beautiful mirror edge.

And then the 940 shaved my beard!

Leave a Reply

